It’s okay to be shy

c5928627b359c4ff328ca4db22ff7a4f

If you know me, then you’ll probably be wondering what this post is about. That’s because in front of my close friends and in front of my family, I’m not shy in the slightest. I’m loud, I can be sarcastic, I can be moody, I make jokes, and I’m confident. The problem comes when I meet new people or when I’m in a situation where I feel totally and utterly out of my depth.

The thing is, I like meeting new people. I try to be friendly, I try to get to know people, but sometimes my shyness gets in the way. I often worry that it makes me come across as rude when I don’t say a lot in social situations, or when I don’t make eye contact.

I don’t think it’s just me who feels this way. I think a lot of people do. When you’re shy, it can often seem lonely. You actively go out of your way to avoid situations that make you feel uncomfortable. It makes things such as job interviews or even simply going to a party a living nightmare. We constantly think that all eyes are on us. It makes us blush, it makes us fumble our words, it makes us want the ground to swallow us up.

I read an article recently that said that people tend to trust shy people more because shyness is a way of people outwardly expressing their emotions. Apparently shy people tend to be more emotional, they tend to care more about others, and they tend to have a generally warmer personality. The words of this article really stayed with me. I do try to always think about others, and I do tend to be quite an emotional person. It helped me to see the positive side of my shy nature.

I keep seeing the same quote- ‘shyness has ruined so many great opportunities.’ In a way it makes me angry and I found this to really affect me. It’s true, shyness has ruined opportunities for me, but it doesn’t mean it has to ruin any more for me. As I’m getting older, I’m trying to break away from my comfort zone, to break through the shyness. I think that believing that quote will stop you from taking great opportunities, and that the best thing to do is to not let shyness be the catalyst that stops you from living the life you want to.

My main aim of writing this is just to say to all my fellow shy people out there- it’s okay. You’re not alone. People don’t dislike you because you’re shy. Chances are, when they get to know you, and realise that you’re shy, they’ll go out of their way to help make you feel more comfortable. And besides, confidence grows as you get older. Remember that. You don’t need to let shyness control your life. Take a deep breath, remember that it’s just who you are, and try your best. Shyness doesn’t have to hold you back anymore.

2 thoughts on “It’s okay to be shy

Leave a Reply

