The struggles of learning to drive

d706011bc9750e46aef6b58d325a2832

Today I wanted to write about something that’s really getting me down at the moment- learning to drive. I’m 19, and I still can’t do it. A lot of you may be thinking that’s still quite young, and that there’s no need to rush, but the thing is, I’ve been learning to drive since last September and still seem to be getting nowhere with it.

Before I started to learn, I was so excited about it. I’d managed to save up enough money after working long shifts at fast food restaurants and retail stores, and Β I was determined that I was going to pass as soon as possible. I signed up with a driving instructor, paid for a block of ten lessons, and thought yay, this is it. I’m going to be driving soon.

The problem was, driving was not as easy as I thought it was going to be. I struggled with everything. It took me about fifteen lessons before I even got on the main road, I struggled with gear changes, roundabouts, EVERYTHING. I lended up having about thirty lessons, which brought me up until the end of April, before I decided it was time to make a change. I felt like my old driving instructor had been ripping me off. He spent hours making me drive around the same loop, not teaching me any manoeuvres and upping the price of my lessons. After discussing it with my family and my boyfriend, I found a new instructor.

Things are going slightly better. The problem is, it’s like learning to drive again from scratch. And I’m still struggling. All I want is to have a car so I can hop in whenever I like and just nip somewhere instead of having to walk miles or having to use public transport.Living in Manchester, it’s really easy to use a tram, but it would be so lovely to be able to visit my family and friends who don’t live here whenever I like.

For now, I’m going to keep persevering. It has crossed my mind to try taking a five day intensive course, or just to give up and start to learn automatic, but I feel like all this effort and money would have been a waste otherwise. I guess one day I’ll eventually pass and look back and be grateful that I did carry on, but for now it’s hard to not get upset that I don’t seem to be making much progress.

Is anyone else going through anything similar/ has been through something similar?

5 thoughts on “The struggles of learning to drive

Leave a Reply

