The ‘glad to be alive’ feeling

257afaa0e90e543dbd5d042213fb6d4c

Is it just me who gets a certain sort of feeling when they’re somewhere really special? I’m talking about that feeling you get when you’re watching a glorious sunset in shades of orange, red and pink, the feeling you get when you’re driving in a car near the beach with the windows down, your favourite song on and beautiful sunny weather, the feeling you get when you step off the plane in a foreign country and it’s vibrant, and new, and amazing. The best way to describe it is probably to call it the ‘glad to be alive’ feeling. It’s euphoric.

I think a lot of us spend the majority of our time on this earth worrying about our daily lives, worrying about exams, about work, about our appearance, about our relationships. We don’t focus enough on the happy moments. We take what we have for granted. The problem is we’re not really living when we do this. We’re simply existing. I’m not going to be unrealistic and suggest that we wake up every single morning with a massive grin on our face, but I do think that we should embrace those mornings where we do wake up feeling happy and joyous.

Like most people, I’m guilty of waking up in the morning and having a good grumble about what lies ahead. I focus on the negative in situations instead of the positive, but all the while I should be concentrating on what will next give me that ‘glad to be alive’ feeling. I think it’s important to remember that there are people out there who have a much harder life than we do. They don’t have the same opportunities and the same resources that we have. Their search for their ‘glad to be alive feeling’ is so much harder than it is for us.

Last night I was lucky enough to go and see one of my favourite bands in the world live. As the crowd sang in unison, and the stadium was lit up with fireworks, lights and technicolour, I felt that ‘glad to be alive’feeling. This morning I woke up feeling happy and I still have the remnants of that feeling.

Tomorrow when I wake up and grumble about how early it is, or complain that it’s raining outside, I’m not going to forget that feeling. I’m going to do everything in my power to create it again as soon as possible. At the end of the day we all only have one life so we should do everything that we can to capture every moment that will bring us that feeling of being in harmony with the world. We’re blessed to have everything we have and life isn’t something to be taken for granted.

What do you think?

2 thoughts on “The ‘glad to be alive’ feeling

Leave a Reply

