How to get a better night’s sleep

9444b267e1fbde028117b3d69da7700a

Recently I’ve been so busy that I don’t feel as if I’ve been getting enough sleep, never mind a sleep that actually makes me feel rested! I think that’s because I’ve been working full time on an internship meaning early mornings and the fact that on a weekend it’s been such lovely weather that I’ve been out and about the entire time. I shouldn’t complain because I’ve really enjoyed the last few weeks and I hate being bored, but I thought I’d share some things with you that I’m going to try and do this evening to unwind and hopefully get a better night’s sleep. 

Technology ban- This one’s probably going to be a bit of a struggle for me as I’m constantly on my phone or laptop whether that’s texting friends, doing bits for my blog or even looking things up. However, it is supposed to really help with your sleep as it allows your brain to shut off properly so I’m going to give it my best shot and see if it helps.

Make your bedroom cosy- When I lived in Chester, my tiny little uni room couldn’t really be described as cosy. I had a single bed which squeaked when you sat on it, there was no carpet and it was freezing because the heating wouldn’t work. In my flat now there are a tonne of cushions on the bed, the mattress is really soft and I actually enjoy being in my bedroom. Make yours cosy and you’ll find it much easier to fall asleep when you’re actually comfortable.

Wear something comfortable- This one goes without saying but you’d be surprised how many people see going to bed as some kind of fashion parade. No one cares what you look like when you’re going to bed. As long as you’re comfortable, that’s all that matters. I have to say though, I do really enjoy wearing matching pyjamas to bed. It makes me feel a bit more accomplished.

Make sure you’re actually tired- Okay, I know it’s hard when you know you have to be up in the morning and you can’t sleep. But the worst thing to do is to lie and to try and will yourself for sleep. Instead of doing that, try reading or getting up and doing something. Trust me, it makes all the difference.

Make a cup of tea (or if you don’t like tea, hot chocolate)- I’m a huge coffee fan and drink way too much of it to be good for me. However, on an evening I find that a cup of tea is so much more relaxing. It helps my mind shut down, and it’s just a really soothing drink. You could always try green tea or fruit tea as well as they’re supposed to have loads of health benefits.

What do you do to try and get a good night’s sleep?

7 thoughts on “How to get a better night’s sleep

  1. This is great advice for the sleepless. I regularly go through bouts of retlessness and I’ve not found my one true fix. Tech ban is a must. After a certain hour no more looking at my phone. I’ve also tried exercise before bed to tire me out, do a half hour then rest for ten minutes before getting into bed. The best method for me is white noise, putting on a podcast Playlist something to have playing softly in the background that empties your frantic thoughts. I really enjoyed reading your perpective on this, I hope you’re having some better rested nights!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I tried the tech ban but very difficult, think this is one I need to work on haha! Exercise is a good idea it could possibly work, and yes that’s a great one, I bet that’s really relaxing and I think it would empty my thoughts. Thank you for the advice, and thanks for reading! 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My pleasure! It’s nice to get someone else view on something so important as sleep. I’d like to be able to get more than my current 2 hours when I’ve got work the next day!! Don’t give up on the tech ban it’s hard but it’s useful. The easiest way is always charges at the furthest away socket so you can’t get to them from bed.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow 2 hours! Well good luck to you, I really hope you mange to sleep better soon 🙂 and I will I’ll keep trying, fingers crossed I’ll get there eventually! That’s a great idea, I’ll be trying that out tonight.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Happy to help! I have a good idea once every month I was hoping to save it till next week but if it helps you’re welcome to it. Thanks so much, I really do hope mines gets better. At least I know what’s causing it I just need something to balance it that isn’t pill formed. That’s a path I refuse to go down.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Haha well it’s definitely a good one! That’s probably the best idea, I always think that that would cause more problems further along the line. Natural ways seem to be the way forward 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

