Feeling lost in the world of blogging

b15a82899f56ae62b375e841d955ef76

As many of you know, I’ve been blogging for around eight months now, and it’s only recently that I’ve actually felt I’ve been getting somewhere with it. That’s because I didn’t know what to write about before and so consequently didn’t post very often. I don’t feel that my heart was fully in it.  When I first started I had no idea what I was doing. I didn’t know where to create one, I didn’t know what to call it, and I didn’t have a clue about what my first post should be. It was hard to find advice on blogging too; I didn’t know much about how to use themes etc, and I’m still learning now.

I’d found that it’s so easy to get lost in the world of blogging. For ages I tried to promote my blog via my social media but found myself lost in a tidal wave of other people’s blogs who were  much better than my own, and that had so many more followers and readers. It made me really sad to think that no one was reading the posts that I spent so long working on.

Eight months later and I have a name that I’m happy with , and a site layout that I like, and I’m finally starting to feel more confident about my content. I’m liking getting to know my readers more as it helps to work out what sort of posts to write. I feel like I’m finding my niche and as a consequence am enjoying it in a way I didn’t previously. I’m feeling as if my blog is now my happy place, a place that I can be proud of.

For so long I had completely forgotten why it was that I wanted to start a blog in the first place. I’d got caught up in the idea of having a strong online presence, and having loads of followers. The reason I’d started my blog was because I wanted somewhere to express myself. I wanted my own piece of the internet to share my thoughts with, a place where I wouldn’t feel judged by what I liked and what I didn’t like. I wanted my own creative outlet.

I’ve realised that it doesn’t matter how many people are reading it as long as I keep writing it. I’ve managed to gain more viewers recently and I think that’s because my writing has improved as I’m in a much happier mindset as I write these posts. I don’t want to be a blogger who just talks about clothes and makeup. Don’t get me wrong, I love both of those things, but I don’t want those things to define me. They don’t define me in real life, so why should they on here?

I want to thank everyone who’ve been really supportive by my liking my posts, commenting on them and just simply reading them. I’ve decided that quality over quantity is definitely what’s important when it comes to blogging. I’ll keep blogging for myself, and to you guys. I’m going to enjoy being relatively new to the blogging community, and I’m going to enjoy the learning curve that I’m experiencing as my blog grows.

10 thoughts on “Feeling lost in the world of blogging

    1. It’s difficult when you start blogging to know where to start. I’d definitely agree, the best thing is to blog for yourself and to keep on writing on subjects that you love and that you care about as I think that’s what makes a good post. Thank you so much for reading and letting me know your thoughts 🙂 x

      Like

  1. I’ve had that before. I blogged for about a year, but got so swept up in building online presence, building a mailing list, becoming a “proper blogger” that I just ended up feeling overwhelmed and losing myself. I’m starting from scratch, but it’s so hard not to let yourself get sucked in with the comparison bug. I just have to remind myself (often) that most people got to where they are by consistent hard work. I once read a post written by James Altucher that said that it takes five years to really see if you’re good at something.

    Though all in all, I agree with you: the most important thing is to be yourself. No two people can ever be the same, so even if we all wrote about the same thing it’d be different and we’d attract different readers because not everyone clicks with people the same way, enjoys the same kind of writing style, etc.

    Happy blogging 🙂 I’m glad to hear you’re in a happy place and I hope it stays that way x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, I think that’s great that you’ve decided to go back to the roots of blogging. It is really hard, especially when you read a really great blog and see all the comments and wonder how you can get your blog to look like that! You’re right, I think that’s the key to good blogging, trying to engage with whatever audience you already have rather than trying to find one that fits everyone. So lovely to hear from you, I might have to try and find that James Altucher post, it sounds inspiring 🙂 thank you for reading and good luck with your new blogging adventure 🙂 x

      Like

  2. I’m a new blogger too and I’ve definitely fallen into the trap of feeling inadequate as a blogger because I don’t seem to have many readers. Thank you for reminding me why I started in the first place x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome, keep writing and I promise things will get better 🙂 and besides as long as you’re happy with what you’re writing, that’s all that matters. Thank you so much for reading 🙂 x

      Like

  3. Love this! Been feeling this way for a little while as well. As long as we find enjoyment in it, I’m gonna keep doing it.
    Happy I read this post – came at the right time! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

