Thought of the day

“Why can’t people just sit and read books and be nice to each other?”
quote

After a Christmas full of chocolate, turkey, cake and more, I decided that I was going to try and lose a few pounds to get in shape for the summer, something which I think a lot of girls do in the hopes of fitting into the perfect bikini.

I started by making sure whenever I did the weekly food shop that I would buy everything which Sainsburys and Waitrose told me was ‘good for me’ and was part of their healthy range. I ate just fruit for breakfast, and felt guilty whenever I ate a piece of cake. I filled my cupboards with exotic flavours of green tea, from gingerbread to salted caramel, and frantically signed up for the gym. Every time my boyfriend suggested having some chocolate on an evening, or going out for dessert, I’d say no and cook something healthy at home.

To be fair, this did help me lose weight, but the problem was, I never enjoyed meals as much anymore, and I craved sweet treats like peanut M and M’s, salt and pepper crisps, and cake, so much cake. And so I decided to hell with it, I wasn’t going to feel guilty anymore.

So now, I eat healthy most of the time instead of all of the time. If my friends want to go for a coffee, I’ll say yes and order my favourite calorie laden frappucino. But I’ll make sure that I cook a healthy tea as a consequence. I’ve found that the brown bread, the wholemeal seeded bread which I hated growing up, was much tastier and more filling than the white I always used to buy, and I’ve found that chicken on sandwiches is much tastier than full fat cheese. I’ve even found a healthy alternative to my favourite crisps, which are Kettle’s Maple BBQ Waves, which contain less fat and less calories, but are still just as yummy and satisfying.

In my opinion, it’s all about finding a balance.Sometimes it’s good to indulge, and it’s just what you need after a long day at school, or university, or work. But sometimes you feel motivated to eat healthy and do loads of exercise and that’s also okay. But there’s no point in feeling miserable anymore, or worrying about your weight, because chances are you’re great already just the way you are. Just make a few simple changes, and you’ll be surprised at how much more effective they are compared to completely depriving yourself of everything you love.

What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Thought of the day

  1. Hey, loved this post! I always have phases where I eat super healthy and am very strict but after some months I give up and eat everything unhealthy. I find it so hard to find the balance as I either go full super healthy or eat totally unhealthy: a lot of fast food and candies. So hopefully I’ll soon be able to find the balance as you did. Great inspiration, thanks! I’ll definitely keep your words in mind. x http://www.carolineko.blogspot.com

    Like

    1. Hi there, aw I know right it’s so hard to try and eat healthy when there’s so much lovely food tempting you all the time haha!I’m sure you’ll manage it, and besides I know I’ll still be eating unhealthy this weekend 😛 thanks for reading! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

