Thought of the day

“Remember how far you’ve come, not just how far you have to go. You are not where you want to be, but neither are you where you used to be”
d82a929db3a093114a70c372017e154b

Like a dandelion with its tufts scattered away in the wind, whirling away into a chasm of nothingness, a lot of us feel that we are waiting for something that hasn’t happened to us yet. As the clock ticks, and time goes by, sometimes slowly and sometimes unbelievably fast, we nervously wait and wonder about what the next chapter of our lives is going to hold.

University is a strange place where you’re expected to perform to your highest standard all of the time in all aspects whether that be professionally, socially, or academically. It’s easy to be trapped in the mindset that you need to be better, that you need to get better grades or get better at doing interviews, or get better opportunities which will shape your future. I constantly worry that I’m not doing enough to prepare myself, despite the amount of part time jobs I’ve held, the good grades I’ve got, and the internship I’m completing. And it’s because I know that there’s always going to be someone better than me, and in this day and age, we spend far too much time thinking about the next step rather than concentrating on the here and now.

I don’t take pride in the things that I have done, or spend enough time loving what I’m currently doing. I’ve realised that I’ve come a long way, especially in the past two years, as I’ve completed college, gone to university, moved away to Chester, and then moved out to Manchester, and I know I’ve grown as a person as things have changed. Some of those things were unplanned, and yet I’m one hundred percent happy with my life and my choices.

Right now, I’ve almost finished my second year of my degree, which means normally I’d be worrying about getting a summer job.But whilst it’s not my priority right yet, I’m going to continue thinking about my last assignment, completing my internship, and enjoying everything I do all the while.

And next week when I start to worry again, I’m going to reread this quote, make a cup of coffee, and settle down with a good book. It’s normal to worry but sometimes a bit of calm and time to yourself makes you realise that you’ve traveled a long way, and it’s okay to finally have a rest.

It’s time to start focusing on the now, and everything else will fall into place over time.

Can you relate to this quote?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

