Fashion Picks of the week: Topshop, Dorothy Perkins and New Look

topshop

First of all, I thought I’d take a look at Topshop. I often struggle to find clothes I like in Topshop due to the fact that I’m not extremely skinny, and often I find they tend to cater towards smaller girls, however this week whilst browsing their website, I found a number of items which I really liked. It can also be pricey sometimes, however the items I found seem quite reasonable.

1. Daisy Floral Print Overlay Dress- £48

1

The first item that caught my eye was this floral dress. I like how it’s 70’s inspired, and that it’s a versatile piece which can be used as either smart or casual wear depending on how it was dressed up or down. It could easily be worn on a warm sunny day and then on a cooler day paired with a jacket. Personally I’d wear it with a pair of heeled ankled boots and an oversized denim jacket with a statement handbag.

2. BAT Cleated Shoe Boots- £35

2

I thought these were a really reasonable price, and that they were ideal for the summer months. They could easily go with a dress or jeans, and similarly to the dress above, could be either dressed up or down. They’re the perfect contrast between sandals and boots, and I think these are a must for the summer wardrobe.

3. Strawberry Straw Bag- £28

3

I saw this and fell in love with it straight away. It’s perfect for the festival season, and adds a touch of fun and colour to any outfit. It’s an over the shoulder bag and is ideal for all your summer essentials.

dorothy perkins

Secondly, I had a look at Dorothy Perkins, as they do an awesome student discount and I love how girly and classic their clothes are. 

4. Pink floral kimono- £28

4

This kimono is great for dressing up a pair of jeans, and is the perfect cover up for when the weather cools. It would look great thrown over a bikini on your holidays, or at a festival over a pair of shorts. The colours also mean that this piece could fit into your autumn wardrobe as well as your summer wardrobe.

5.Green Crochet Yoke Shell Top- £20

5

Tops such as this one are summer staples in the summer months as they’re great to wear with both shorts or jeans, and can also be tucked into a high waisted skirt for a different look. I love the colour and the pattern and eyelet detail stops it from being too plain.

6. Bleach Denim Jacket- £28

6

A denim jacket is another wardrobe essential in the summer, as it looks fabulous with any summer dress no matter the pattern or style. This light coloured jacket would look great with the sleeves rolled up.

new look

And lastly I had a look at New Look, as it’s my favourite shop and everytime I walk in there, I’m tempted to buy the entire shop, however I managed to narrow it down to three of my favourite items. 

7.White Ditsy Floral Print Skater Skirt- £12.99

7

Skater skirts are flattering on women of every shape, and are incredibly girly as well are being great for the warm weather. I like all of the different colours on this one, as it means that with different items you could give this skirt a different look depending on what you felt like.

8. Fashion Union Blue Abstract Print Lace Hem Playsuit- £17.99

8

This playsuit is absolutely gorgeous and I LOVE the contrast between the top and the bottom. It would look lovely paired with a pair of gladiator sandals, or perhaps some heeled wedges.

9. Black Scallop Hem Crochet Shorts- £17.99

9

Could be worn either for a festival or a night out, and would look great with a patterned or plain crop top, this item is incredibly versatile. I love the scallop hem, and this style is very ‘in’ at the moment.

3 thoughts on “Fashion Picks of the week: Topshop, Dorothy Perkins and New Look

Leave a Reply

